On Being a Bad Lady

15 Aug

 

Yes, I have been lifting weights again. And I know–David Garrigues would have my head on a platter. With some macrobiotic food on the side…

I conducted a little “experiment”, and went to a boot camp through my job for four months. I also started doing Crossfit. I even ran (!!!) which I haven’t done in any sort of serious way since my tendon repair surgery in 2008.

And I loved it. Not gonna lie…it’s so much easier for me to stay in the comfort zone of really physically rough exercise. It feels good, and it’s not confusing or weird or “internally challenging” like Ashtanga. It doesn’t cause me to need to rearrange my mental landscape. And in the end, it also doesn’t necessitate a total physical rearrangement, either. It’s more of the same. My body is like, “Oh yeah, this. I know this.” With Ashtanga, my body is like, “Oh my f*cking GOD, not THIS! Anything but this!”

In the end, I decided to stop bootcamp after almost 5 months. My hip is killing me again, and my knees may soon join my hip in united protest. This time, though, there’s something different going on. I feel very mentally and spiritually “stagnant”. I am craving the “internal rearrangement” of Ashtanga, even though I am scared shitless of starting a serious morning Mysore practice with a teacher. I am coming up with every excuse known to humankind to not do it. I’ve also been letting my new job and lots and lots of socializing get in the way of dedication to practice. I have been dabbling with Ashtanga Fundamentals classes here and there, with erratic home practice, with hot yoga and with classes through my job (which happen to be taught by an Ashtanga teacher, hmmm…). For the same reasons that I stopped lifting weights and started Ashtanga in 2012, I am stopping now. It looks like pain, both physical and emotional, remains my best teacher. Surprise!

Leave a Reply

ooohbabyilikeitraw

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Austin Live | Work

Tiny House Community, Builders, and Rentals

Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

vegan food in Austin TX

Triangle Chicken Advocates

Vegan chicken sanctuary & rescue

Living is harder than it looks.

But let's do it anyways.

Striving with Systems

radical vegan perspectives on total liberation

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Beautiful

Family. Food. Beautiful Spaces. Healing. Travel. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

