Ashtanga Yoga with Kino MacGregor in Mysore, India: Video

22 Jul

 

More words of wisdom from my, ahem, future teacher. Actually, I suppose she is my teacher right now, just from afar. I had to take some notes during this short video–she phrases things in a way that I can grasp and relate to as a new practitioner:

” Through the practice of yoga, you learn that if you try to overpower things, if you try to accomplish things with brute force or overactivation, then you end up hurting yourself. And if you take that same attitude to life, you end up hurting others. So rather than using the practice to..hide places of weakness or hide insecurities, the idea is to actually go directly into them. You know, lean into it. The places that scare you are the places that are most possible for you to connect with others”

And also, very apropos my practice in the last grief-filled year:

“I almost feel like the more that my heart breaks and the more that I’m able to share that, the more that the practice is working and the stronger I become.”

 

2 Responses to “Ashtanga Yoga with Kino MacGregor in Mysore, India: Video”

  1. BSRadar October 29, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    First of all, props to Kino for sharing her passion and knowledge of ashtanga yoga. She deserves a lot of credit and respect for what she’s doing. I understand there are lots of people who object to her image, but I don’t have a problem with that at all. My issue is more of her hypocritical manner when talking about “ahimsa” or the principle of “not harming.” She talks about this at length in her book and in interviews. But check out this Youtube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F80lyRHxNDg) where she totally contradicts herself. HelloYoga in Japan did an interview with Kino on September 29, 2011. Around the video’s 13:00 to 14:00 minute mark, she says she doesn’t consume meat bc she loves animals and abides by ahimsa, therefore she’s vegetarian. Then around the 16:42 mark, she talks about how she loves shopping and how many beautiful shoes she’s bought on her trip to Japan. I guess she has no problem with how the leftover skin of animals killed for food is used to make beautiful shoes…as long as she doesn’t actually consume the meat herself. Rather hypocritical, if you ask me. Or maybe all those shoes she bought are made of pleather. Somehow I doubt it.

    • hellbentforpleather January 6, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

      I always wonder about people’s shoes! I hope that they are pleather. I think she is a fantastic teacher, and I feel like she is a very sincere person. I am thankful that there are a lot more options for vegan shoes these days, even designer ones (yay Stella McCartney!). I don’t know about the options in Japan, but I know vegan shoes have definitely escalated in popularity and some veg celebrities have been very public about not wearing leather.

Leave a Reply

ooohbabyilikeitraw

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Austin Live | Work

Tiny House Community, Builders, and Rentals

Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

vegan food in Austin TX

Triangle Chance for All

Vegan microsanctuary & farmed animal rescue

Living is harder than it looks.

But let's do it anyways.

Striving with Systems

radical vegan perspectives on total liberation

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Beautiful

Family. Food. Beautiful Spaces. Healing. Travel. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

