A Dozen Engine 2 Compliant Condiments

3 Jun

This is another one that goes out to my friends who are curious about the whole plant-based cooking thing!

Have you ever been over to a single guy’s house and seen the “only-thing-in-the-fridge-is-ketchup-and-hot-sauce” phenomenon? Never underestimate the power of condiments—they can make or break a meal! Condiments are necessary companions on my plant-based cooking journey. These are a few of my favorites; some require preparation and some you can buy at your local health food store or Whole Foods Market.

1. Vegi Delite Zing  Salad Sauerkraut: a mysteriously good topping for a number of different dishes. The sourness offsets saltiness or sweetness. Plus, it’s a beautiful color and it’s great for your GI tract.

2. Organicville Sauces: agave sweetened, oil-free and really good. I love the Original BBQ and the Teriyaki. Making your own sauces is always preferable, but not always feasible when you are crunched for time or just starting out.

3. Cock Sauce, er, Sriracha. You know you love it.Yeah, it may not be the “healthiest” thing, but sometimes it just makes a huge plate of greens and millet so much more palatable.

4. Annie’s Horseradish Mustard: transforms even the most meh sandwich into pure awesomeness.

5. Whole Foods Market HSH Dressings: I especially like the Tangerine and Balsamic Fig. Kind of severely sweet sometimes, but I really like combining them with nut-based salad dressings to dampen them down a little bit.

6. Food For Lover’s Vegan Queso and Nacho Mom’s Vegan Queso: the Universal Solvents. Nacho Mom’s does make a gluten-free option as well if you have problems with wheat and/or gluten. I’ve also written about these guys in my post on vegan cheese.

7. Fat Free Vegan Kitchen’s  Oil-Free Vegan Ranch Dressing: I lived in Texas. I LOVE ranch dressing. Admittedly, the Follow Your Heart High Omega 3 Vegan Ranch is made of awesome, but what’s a non-oil eating E2’r to do? Make your own, son! Fat Free Vegan Kitchen has a wealth of excellent recipes—I definitely recommend checking it out ASAP. This is definitely one of my faves–recipe in the link that follows:

http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2012/01/hidden-cashew-ranch-dressing-plus-tips-for-eating-salads-when-you-really-dont-want-to.html

8. Happy Herbivore’s Vegan No Oil Mayo, cuz Fat Free Nasoya tastes like depressing snot (Sorry Nasoya, I love you guys!). The recipe is not posted on her website, but you should just bite the damn bullet already and get the cookbook. DO IT! Here’s a link to one of the recipes that is my all time favorite in her book—Mock Tuna Salad! Even my hard core omnivorous, very fussy boss and President of my company likes this stuff. He was shocked that it was vegan:

Happy Herbivore’s Mock Tuna…you know you want it!

http://happyherbivore.com/recipe/mock-tuna-salad/

9. Engine 2’s Basic Salad Dressing: This is a little too sour for me sometimes, but it is extremely tasty—almost like a vegan honey mustard. Also good for dipping things into, like tofu, seitan or vegan chicken fingers. I can’t seem to find a recipe online, strangely. It’s definitely in the book, tho.

10. Mango Salsa: makes everything a par-tay, baby! I could be biased by my Cuban hardwiring, but mangos are so f’ing delicious.

11. Agave Nectar: I see lots of controversy about this lately alllll over the internet. All I know is that it tastes good and doesn’t trigger massive sugar cravings for me. I can have it in small amounts in raw desserts and baked treats and not act like a crackhead afterwards. Also doesn’t make me sleepy, which is an indicator that it is not fucking up my blood sugar which gets a big thumbs up from me and my PCOS. To each their own.

12. Vegan Worcestershire Sauce: works so well in a variety of applications. There are several vegan kinds on the market—I usually use good ole’ Annie’s. It’s  all about the umami, baby!

3 Responses to “A Dozen Engine 2 Compliant Condiments”

  1. isismoon1180 August 3, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    I’m so happy I found your blog. I suffer from pcos and as of late have been trying to follow a vegan/raw vegan path. Needless to say I failed due to lack of variety. I will definitely checkout your recommendations. Also love the spiritual posts. I’m a chanter as well.

    • hellbentforpleather August 4, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Thank you so much for following! I try to post lots of recipes and/or meal ideas for things that I have tried and liked. I find that I need to have a lot of variety (within reason) or I get hungry and angry! My PCOS is a thousand times better since I started eating this way; I no longer have any of the endocrine markers of PCOS when my endocrinologist does my bloodwork (!!!). I don’t do a lot of raw food (check out my E2/Ayurveda post to see why) but I do try to eat things that are healthy but taste good and make me happy. Best of health to you on your journey!

      • isismoon1180 August 4, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

        You’re welcome. Thank you for sharing so much wonderful information. It gives me hope that I can reverse my PCOS as well.

Leave a Reply

ooohbabyilikeitraw

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Austin Live | Work

Tiny House Community, Builders, and Rentals

Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

vegan food in Austin TX

Triangle Chance for All

Vegan microsanctuary & farmed animal rescue

Living is harder than it looks.

But let's do it anyways.

Striving with Systems

radical vegan perspectives on total liberation

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Beautiful

Family. Food. Beautiful Spaces. Healing. Travel. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

