Sin City Yoga

2 Jun

Last night I tried a Yoga 1 Vinyasa class with Angelica Govaert at Sin City Yoga, a new study that just opened up about a month ago here in Las Vegas. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been struggling with sheer *terror* about going to a studio yoga class, especially anything Vinyasa/Power/Ashtanga based. The last Baptiste Power yoga class I went to almost killed me!

The studio is right off of Rancho and Alta in a little house. The studio space itself is small and cozy and sort of set off toward the back of the property. There’s a nice garden next to it. I immediately liked it and felt eager to go inside, which is rare for me when it comes to yoga. I’ve been sitting on a two month unlimited pass to Bikram Summerlin since Thanksgiving or so and every time I think about using it, I want to puke.

The good news: I didn’t die. I faced my fear AND I even wore form fitting yoga clothing that I can actually practice comfortably in (not Lululemon, though—don’t get it twisted, OK?). This is a huge deal for me, as I am extremely self-conscious and weird about my body still after all of the weight loss. I am always convinced that I will be the fattest and stiffest person in the room and I work myself up into a frenzy of anxiety about it.

Sometimes being in my body feels like I am driving a rental car with all sorts of gee gaws and gadgets that I don’t know how to operate. I am used to hiding underneath lots and lots of clothing. I had a moment when I saw myself in the mirror and almost had a panic attack. I still see a 320 pound or 275 pound person in the mirror. I will continue to stay the fuck away from that mirror until I am a little more settled down in my practice and not in such a weird place about inhabiting my body. Yeah, that should be, um, never…!

The even better news: the class was excellent. I could pretty much “do” all of the asanas and there was lots of hip opening going on, which I desperately need. I liked Angelica’s teaching style and she is very approachable and warm. She told me before class started that she was from Florida, and also that she studies Ashtanga but does not teach it. She said she really has a lot of respect for the lineage and structure, and she feels that if you are going to teach Ashtanga you need to go to Mysore and do the whole deal. She got to study once with Jois right before he died, which I was excited by. Angelica gave me some great adjustments and was very encouraging. I am going back on Saturday for another level 1 class.

Interestingly, she reminded me of my very first yoga teacher, Michelle—also from Florida. I have a good feeling about this.

Update: I ran into Angelica randomly on my lunch break  in Whole Foods today, which I took as a positive sign from the powers that be. She gave me a big hug and was SO nice. I am excited to have a teacher again!

Sin City Yoga website: http://www.sincityyoga.com/

info@sincityyoga.com

702-900-8244

515 Rose Street, Las Vegas, NV 89106– just East of the intersection of Rancho and Alta. Close to the 95 and not too far from The Strip.

2 Responses to “Sin City Yoga”

  1. Angelica June 26, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    Well you just never know what you’ll find when you google yourself! I’m so glad you enjoyed class. We love to see you anytime!! Blessings!

    • hellbentforpleather June 26, 2012 at 6:33 am #

      I loved the class Angelica!! Thanks so much for reading my blog 🙂 I can’t wait to have the opportunity to take another class with you–after surgery this Thursday I will hopefully be able to get back on track.

Leave a Reply

ooohbabyilikeitraw

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Austin Live | Work

Tiny House Community, Builders, and Rentals

Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

vegan food in Austin TX

Triangle Chance for All

Vegan microsanctuary & farmed animal rescue

Living is harder than it looks.

But let's do it anyways.

Striving with Systems

radical vegan perspectives on total liberation

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Beautiful

Family. Food. Beautiful Spaces. Healing. Travel. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

