Recipe: The Very Non-Engine 2 Vegan S’mores Cupcakes

8 Apr

Vegan S'mores Cupcakes

I am so not a food photographer! But I can make some damn good vegan cupcakes. I adapted a recipe from Oh She Glows (an awesome blog, by the way), who in turn had adapted a recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. For Angela’s recipe, check out :

http://ohsheglows.com/2010/05/25/marshmallow-smore-vegan-cupcakes-take-1/

My adjustments were as follows:

Did not use molasses in the actual cupcake batter at all. Used 2 tbs agave.

I used the brand spanking new Blue Diamond unsweetened Almond/Coconut milk.

Used only 1/2 cup canola oil, omitted the coconut oil completely.

Increased baking powder to 1 and 1/2 tsp, and they rose quite nicely.

Only used 1 tbs maple syrup in the ganache recipe, and it was perfect—exactly thick enough and not too sweet.

Used crumbled graham crackers, one marshmallow and a tiny square of 365 dark chocolate for the toppings.

Used Dandie’s sinisterly packaged but delicious vegan marshmallows.

Eat me I'm creepy!

As I was making these for my sister-in-laws’ birthdays, I mused that it would be possible to sort of make them E2 compliant if you subbed applesauce for the oil. I was unwilling to experiment with that since I wasn’t eating these anyway and the people I’m serving them to are not only not vegan, but eat oil like crazy. Plus I had under an hour to get these ready and I couldn’t afford any errors! They were a hit with the family, and I was greatly relieved. Sometimes I feel like the freaking vegan ambassador to the world when I bake—if these vegan baked goods suck, then people will get it into their heads that ALL vegan baked goods suck. I put a lot of pressure on myself in the kitchen. Gotta remember: it’s just a goddamned cupcake. Why so serious, vegan girl?

Leave a Reply

ooohbabyilikeitraw

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Austin Live | Work

Tiny House Community, Builders, and Rentals

Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

vegan food in Austin TX

Triangle Chance for All

Vegan microsanctuary & farmed animal rescue

Living is harder than it looks.

But let's do it anyways.

Striving with Systems

radical vegan perspectives on total liberation

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Beautiful

Family. Food. Beautiful Spaces. Healing. Travel. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

