Acid Reflux and Ayurveda: Pitta Party

15 Sep

When I was in my 30’s and drinking like a fish with a death wish, I had HORRIBLE acid reflux. My alternative doc sent me home with Mastic Gum capsules, probiotics and DGL lozenges and it worked like a charm. Behold, Pistacia lentiscus AKA the Mastic tree (thanks, wackipedia!):

I actually can’t remember the last time I had reflux, but I have many friends who struggle with this. I was curious about what Ayurveda would have to say about acid reflux, so here are some links and videos if you are interested. Of course, I am not a doctor; I’m just a very curious layperson who loves Ayurveda and who happens to do a lot of nutrition-related research for a living at my day job. I don’t advocate any particular kind of treatment, but information is always helpful. And where else will you get Ayurveda, health and heavy metal in the same blog? Freaking nowhere, man!

Dr. Partap Chauhan on acid reflux–a little more nuanced discussion of the possible combinations of problems that cause acid reflux and dosha imbalances. The first part is cheesy, but the good stuff comes starts at 1:10 :

Simple Ayurvedic home remedies for reflux–I’m a (shhh don’t tell anyone) vegan, so I can’t vouch for the milk cure. However, I bet you could just substitute almond milk for all of you Pittas out there:

John Doulliard, MD and Ayurvedic practitioner, with a few videos on acid reflux and digestive imbalances. He has some good books about Ayurveda (including co-author of The Yoga Body Diet). He also has a few DVD’s about Ayurveda for Gaiam that are simple and straightforward:

Vasant Lad has a PDF document that talks about food combining from an Ayurvedic perspective; there’s all kinds of helpful things on this page: http://www.ayurveda.com/online_resource/index.html

5 Responses to “Acid Reflux and Ayurveda: Pitta Party”

  1. Aura Girling January 5, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    i really hate it when i got some acid reflux after eating a lot from partying all night.’

    Make sure you visit our new blog site as well
    http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/probiotics-for-children/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Can yoga help with acid reflux? How about Ayurveda?YogaRose.net - September 16, 2012

    [...] I get to how excited I was to see today’s Acid Reflux and Ayurveda: Pitta Party post on the most excellent Heavy Metta blog, I have to tell you about last night, one of those [...]

  2. The Synergy of Yoga and Ayurveda « Breathe. Connect. Be. - September 24, 2012

    [...] Acid Reflux and Ayurveda: Pitta Party (heavymettayoga.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. My Game Plan to Wean Off PPI Drugs And Cure Low Stomach Acid « Linda Long Writes! - October 12, 2012

    [...] Acid Reflux and Ayurveda: Pitta Party (heavymettayoga.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterPinterestStumbleUponPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. [...]

  4. Life after Sriracha: Transforming my eating habits with Ayurveda | YogaRose.netYogaRose.net - December 30, 2012

    [...] that I need to give up some of the foods I love the most could have been one big pity/pitta party, but now I see it for the exciting project that it is. Because if there’s one things [...]

Leave a Reply

Living is harder than it looks.

Let's do this recovery thing.

Striving with Systems

musings of a melancholic vegan

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Be.U.tiful

Food. Healing. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Wordsmith & Member of Imaginationland

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

Prana and Peaches

Yoga, Health, Life

peg mulqueen

& The Ashtanga Dispatch

i should be full

Ramblings about my struggles with food, weight, and self-image

Silent Journey

A look into the journey of self discovery

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

