Engine-2-Friendly, Oil Free Vegan Alfredo Sauce

4 Aug

Gotta give props to the Happy Herbivore cookbook yet again—thanks for another great recipe, Lindsay!

 

I have to say, I was extremely skeptical about her Fettuccine Alfredo recipe because I have tried to do this in the past and most of the recipes that did not involve heavy use of macadamia nuts just straight up sucked. This was a pleasant and delicious surprise, and took 5 minutes to whip up in the Vitamix and then heat up on the stove. I did not tamper with the seasonings at all. Here’s a link again to her website, where there are lots of free recipes to try: http://happyherbivore.com/recipes/. Unfortunately, this one is not free but you should just BUY THE BOOK. So worth every penny if you want simple, satisfying, healthy plant-based recipes. Also great if you, like me, are following the Engine 2 plan of plant-based eating. There’s not a ton of recipes in the E2 book (Rip: please come out with a huge, companion recipe book!) so this is my go-to cookbook and has been for the past year. I think tonight I am making Hippie Loaf–I will let you know how it turns out!

I decided to use some vegan butternut squash ravioli that I had in the freezer since I had no fettuccine on hand:

 

These are delicious—just don’t let them get freezer-burned. Here’s the ravioli before I loaded the veggies on:

 

I sauteed what I happened to have on hand in the fridge: diced carrots, broccoli, snow peas, mushrooms, peppers and onions. Finished result:

Leave a Reply

Living is harder than it looks.

Let's do this recovery thing.

Striving with Systems

musings of a melancholic vegan

Doug Does Life

A Creative Monkey On How To Find Your Path In Life.

wanderingfeet

Silent musings along the journey...

Nutritarian Living

For health, for Earth.

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

Fig and Thistle

...burning the candle at both ends...

Shine On Be.U.tiful

Food. Healing. Living Free.

Ed Bauer Fit

Lean and Strong on Plant Based Nutrition

Dave Farmer

Wordsmith & Member of Imaginationland

The Escape

Just another WordPress.com site

Yoga with Ali

Specializing in Ashtanga and Flow Yoga Classes

thealmostyogi

the trials and tribulations of ashtanga practice

Lucas Ramage

Calgary, Canada

Prana and Peaches

Yoga, Health, Life

peg mulqueen

& The Ashtanga Dispatch

i should be full

Ramblings about my struggles with food, weight, and self-image

Silent Journey

A look into the journey of self discovery

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

